## Resolution on the Re-Allocation of Country Rapporteurship amongst Commissioners - ACHPR/Res. 495 (LXIX)2021

Dec 31, 2021

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 69th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 15 November to 5 December 2021;

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling also Rule 7 of its Rules of Procedure (2020) relating to the functions of Members of the Commission;

Recalling further the important role of the Commission in monitoring the implementation of the African Charter, the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Rights of Women in Africa (Maputo Protocol) and the Convention for the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa) Kampala Convention respectively;

Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) relating to its Special Mechanisms adopted during its 27th Extra-Ordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular, guidance provided by the SOPs on the different actions that Special Mechanisms can carry out individually or jointly with the Country Rapporteur in response to Human rights violations/concerns;

Concerned by the various reports of human rights violations including serious and massive violations in some State Parties and the need for the Commission to propose appropriate recommendations;

Decides to reallocate the responsibility for the monitoring of the human rights situation in the different State Parties among its members as follows:

- i. Honourable Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu: Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire, Mali, Togo; Algeria and Egypt;
- ii. Honourable Commissioner Maya Sahli-Fadel: Mauritania, Niger, Tunisia, Senegal and Libya;
- iii. Honourable Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso: Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, South Sudan, and Seychelles;
- iv. Honourable Commissioner Essaiem Hatem: Djibouti, Madagascar, Mauritius, Sudan Guinea Conakry and The Gambia;

- v. Honourable Commissioner Maria Teresa Manuela: Cabo Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique and São Tomè and Prìncipe;
- vi. Honourable Commissioner Mudford Zachariah Mwandenga: Ethiopia, Ghana, Liberia, Malawi, Rwanda and Uganda;
- vii. Honourable Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo: Burundi, Congo-Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon and Angola;
- viii. Honourable Commissioner Janet Ramatoulie Sallah-Njie: Eritrea, Namibia, Somalia, Zimbabwe, Eswatini and Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic;
- ix. Honourable Commissioner Ourveena Geereesha Topsy-Sonoo: Botswana, Lesotho, Sierra Leone; Tanzania and Zambia; and
- x. Honourable Commissioner Idrissa Sow: Burkina Faso, Benin, Central African Republic, Chad and Comoros.

Encourages State Parties to cooperate and consult the Country Rapporteurs of the Commission in the design, planning, implementation and review of Human Rights mandate in their country.

Done virtually, on 5 December 2021