Resolution on the Reconstitution of the Working Group on Communications - ACHPR/Res. 502 (LXIX)2021

Jan 03, 2022

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 69th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 15 November to 5 December 2021;

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Notingits protection mandate which involves the consideration of Communications alleging human rights violations against State Parties to the African Charter, pursuant to Articles 47 and 55 of the African Charter;

Notingits Resolution ACHPR/Res.194 (L) 11 adopted at its 50th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24 October to 5 November 2011 establishing a Working Group on Communications (Working Group) and appointing its Members;

Noting alsoits Resolution ACHPR/Res.212 (EXT.OS/XI) 2012 adopted at its 11th Extra-Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 21 February to 1 March 2012 defining the mandate of the Working Group;

Recallingits Resolution ACHPR/Res.255 (LII) 2012 on the extension of the mandate and modification of the composition of the Working Group adopted at its 52nd Ordinary Session held from 9 to 22 October 2012 in Yamoussoukro, Côte d'Ivoire;

Further Recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.255 (LIV) 2013 and ACHPR/Res.314 (LVII) 2015 on the renewal of the mandate of the Working Group for two-year periods;

Further recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.385 (LXI) 2017 on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group;

Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.425 (LXV) 2019 which renewed the mandate of all its Special Mechanisms, including the Working Group for a period of six (6) months, with effect from 10 November 2019;

RecallingResolution ACHPR/Res. 462 (LXVI) 2020 which renewed the mandate, appointed the Chairperson, and reconstituted Members of the Working Group for a period of two (2) years effective from 7 August 2020;

*Further Recalling*Resolution ACHPR/Res. 480 (LXVIII) 2021 which redistributed country rapporteurship and Special Mechanism Mandates amongst Commissioners;

Bearing in mindthe Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) relating to its Special Mechanisms, adopted during its 27th Extra-Ordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular, guidance provided by the SOPS on the working modalities of Special Mechanisms, general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition, appointment, tenure and conduct of mandate holders; as well as terms of office of Expert Members;

Decides to appoint and reconstitute the Membership of the Working Group as follows:

- 1. Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo, Chairperson;
- 2. Commissioner Maria Teresa Manuela, Vice-Chairperson;
- 3. Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso, Member;
- 4. Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu, Member; and
- 5. Commissioner Idrissa Sow-, Member.

Done virtually, on 5 December 2021