DECISION ON THE REPORT OF THE 28[™] SUMMIT OF THE FORUM OF THE AFRICAN PEER REVIEW MECHANISM

The Assembly,

- 1. TAKES NOTE, WITH APPRECIATION, of the Report of the 28th Summit of the Forum of Heads of States and Government of the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) held on 9 February 2019, presented by H.E. Idriss Deby Itno, President of the Republic of Chad and Chairperson of the APRM Forum;
- 2. **COMMENDS** H.E. President Idriss Deby Itno for his sterling leadership of the APRM Forum and for his excellent presentation of the Report;
- **3. RECALLS** Decision Assembly/AU/Dec.198(XI) adopted at the 11th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union held in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt, in June/July 2008, which decided that APRM structures, namely the APRM Forum, the APR Panel and the APRM Secretariat shall be part of the processes and structures of the African Union;
- **4. ALSO RECALLS** Decision Assembly/AU/Dec.527(XXIII) adopted at the 23rd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union held in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea, in June 2014, on the integration of the APRM into the AU system as an autonomous entity;
- 5. **REAFFIRMS** Decision Assembly/AU/Dec.631(XXVIII) adopted at the 28th Ordinary Session held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in January 2017, and Decision Assembly/AU/Dec.686(XXX), of the 30th Ordinary Session held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in January 2018, which conferred to the APRM an expanded mandate that covers all Member States of the African Union;
- 6. **REITERATES** Decision Ext/Assembly/AU/Dec.1(XI) adopted at the 11th Extraordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in November 2018, integrating the APRM budget into the Statutory Union budget funded by Member States;
- **7. REAFFIRMS** that the APRM remains the premier home-grown, African good governance tool conceived in 2003 and voluntarily acceded to by thirty-seven (37) Member States, representing 69% of AU Member States, more than half of whom, twenty-one (21), have undergone the review;
- 8. **REDEDICATES** ourselves to the cause of good governance in all its four manifestations of good political governance, sound economic governance and management, corporate governance and inclusive and broad-based socioeconomic development;
- **9. WELCOMES** the peer review Reports of Cote d'Ivoire and Mozambique and **CONGRATULATES** H.E Alassane Ouattara, the President of the Republic of Cote

d'Ivoire and H.E Filipe Nyusi, President of the Republic of Mozambique, for their steadfast and sustained leadership in promotion of good governance in their countries and on the continent;

- **10. FURTHER CONGRATULATES** the Panel of Eminent Persons that led the review work and **APPRECIATES** its resilience and commitment to the process;
- **11. ENCOURAGES** both Cote d'Ivoire and Mozambique to take into account observations of Members States during the presentation of the review reports to the APR Forum' as well as the recommendations contained in reports in the development and implementation of their National Programme of Action as a necessary step in furthering the goal of the APRM;
- 12. CONGRATULATES the Republic of Botswana for its accession as a new member of the APRM, and ENCOURAGES more Member States to accede to the APRM, in line with Declaration Assembly/AU/Decl.4(XXX) adopted at the 30th Ordinary Session of the Assembly held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in January 2018, as well as Decision Ext/Assembly/AU/Dec.1(XI), adopted at the 11th Extraordinary Session of the Assembly held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in November 2018, wherein the Assembly urged the remaining Member States to accelerate accession to APRM in order to achieve universality by 2023, as envisaged in the First Ten-Year Implementation Plan of Agenda 2063;
- **13. COMMENDS** APRM for developing the Africa Governance Report in collaboration with AGA, pursuant to Decision Ext/Assembly/AU/Dec.1(XI);
- 14. WELCOMES WITH APPRECIATION the appointment by the APR Forum of new APR Panel Members, H.E Haile Mariam Desalegn, Former Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and Dr. Ali Abderahman Haggar from Chad and EXPRESSES APPRECIATION to the retiring APR Panel Members, for their unwavering commitment to the realization of the mandate of the APRM;
- **15.** WELCOMES WITH SATISFACTION the extension of the tenure of Professor Edward Maloka, as the Chief Executive Officer of the APRM Secretariat, for another three years; CONGRATULATES and WISHES him the very best in carrying out his mandate and ASSURES him of the continued support;
- **16. DECIDES** in line with Decision Ext/Assembly/AU/Dec.1(XI), that the 28th Ordinary Session of the APRM Forum shall be held on the margins of the 33rd Ordinary Session of the Assembly scheduled to be held in February 2020.