<u>ACHPR/Res.158 (XLVI) 09:</u> RESOLUTION ON THE CHANGE OF NAME OF THE "ROBBEN ISLAND GUIDELINES FOLLOW-UP COMMITTEE" TO THE "COMMITTEE FOR THE PREVENTION OF TORTURE IN AFRICA" AND THE REAPPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (THE African Commission), meeting at its 46th Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 11 to 25 November 2009;

Recalling the mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa entrusted to the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights in Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights;

Considering the recognition by African States of the absolute and irrevocable nature of the prohibition of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment in Article 5 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights;

Further recalling its Resolution on Guidelines and Measures for the Prohibition and Prevention of Torture and Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment in Africa (Robben Island Guidelines) adopted during its 32nd Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 17th to 23nd October 2002;

Recalling the establishment of the Robben Island Guidelines Follow-Up Committee in 2004 with the mandate to give effect to the promotion of Article 5 of the Charter;

Mindful of the difficulty of national, regional and international stakeholders and partners in associating the name "Robben Island Guidelines Follow-Up Committee" with its torture prevention mandate;

Recognising the need for all stakeholders to easily identify with the name of the Committee as a torture prevention mechanism;

Decides:

- 1. to change the name of the "Robben Island Guidelines Follow-Up Committee" to the "Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment in Africa (Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa)";
- 2. **Assigns** to the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa the same mandate as the one assigned to the Robben Island Guidelines Follow-Up Committee.

Noting with appreciation the work and the accomplishment of the Chairperson of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa, Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki, since her appointment in 28 November 2007;

Considering the necessity to allow the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa to continue carrying out its mandate and address urgent issues falling within its mandate;

Bearing in mind Resolution ACHPR/Res.120 (XXXXII) 07 on the Appointement of the Chairperson and Members of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa adopted at its 42^{-d} Ordinary Session held from 15 - 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

Considering that the mandate of the Chair of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa, Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki, comes to an end on 28 November 2009;

Decides to re-appoint Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki as Chairperson and to appoint Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye as member of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa for a period of two years, effective 28 November 2009;

Further reappoints the following Experts as Members for the same period:

- i. Mr Jean-Baptiste Niyizurugero Vice Chairperson
- ii. Mrs. Hannah Forster Member
- iii. Mr Malick Sow Member