ACHPR/Res.191 (L) 11: RESOLUTION ON THE APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRPERSON AND RENEWAL AND EXTENSION OF MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON BUDGETARY AND STAFF MATTERS

The African Commission on Human Peoples' Rights (the African Commission) meeting at its 50th Ordinary Session in Banjul, The Gambia from 24th October to 5th November 2011:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights pursuant to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

Aware of the vital role of its Secretariat in ensuring the effective discharge of the Commission's mandate and the importance of having an effective Secretariat;

Further conscious of the difficulties the African Commission faces in the preparation, presentation and execution of its budget, and desirous of facilitating its budgetary preparation process;

Welcoming the decision of the Executive Council of the African Union to strengthen the human resources capacity of the African Commission through the recruitment of 33 more staff over a period of five years, from 2010 to 2014;

Recalling its decision during the 6th Extra-Ordinary Session to establish an Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters to work with the Secretariat to prepare the programs budget of the Commission;

Recalling further Decision EX.CL/Dec.529 (XV) of the Executive Council which states that the African Union Commission (AUC), in consultation with the Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC), expedite the review of the honorarium and allowances of the Members of the Commission in accordance with the Financial Rules and Regulations of the African Union;

Recalling further its **Resolution** *ACHPR/Res.188* (XLIX) *2011*, adopted at its 49^a Ordinary Session, renewing the mandate of the Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters;

Appreciating the work good undertaken by the Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye as Chairperson of this Committee during the past two years;

Recognizing the importance of the work of the Committee and the necessity to allow the Committee to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to appoint the following for a period of 2 years:

• Commissioner Reine Alapini Gansou Chairperson,

- Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie Member;
- Commissioner Soyata Maiga Member; and
- Commissioner Med Kaggwa Member.