<u>ACHPR/Res.192 (L) 11</u>: RESOLUTION RE-APPOINTING THE CHAIRPERSON AND EXPERT MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE FOR THE PREVENTION OF TORTURE IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Commission), meeting at its 50th Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24th October to 5th November 2011;

Recalling the mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa entrusted to it in Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Considering the recognition by African States of the absolute and irrevocable nature of the prohibition of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment in Article 5 of the African Charter;

Further recalling its Resolution on Guidelines and Measures for the Prohibition and Prevention of Torture, Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment in Africa (Robben Island Guidelines) adopted during its 32 nd Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 17th to 23rd October 2002;

Recalling the establishment of the Robben Island Guidelines Follow-Up Committee in 2004 with the mandate to give effect to the promotion of Article 5 of the Charter;

Further recalling resolution **ACHPR/Res158(XLVI)09**, that changes the name of the Robben Island Follow-up Committee to the **Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa** (CPTA).

Noting with appreciation the work and the accomplishment of the Chairperson of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa, Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki, since her appointment in 28 November 2007;

Considering the necessity to allow the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa to continue carrying out its mandate and address urgent issues falling within its mandate:

Bearing in mind Resolution ACHPR/Res.120(XXXXII)07 on the Appointment of the Chairperson and Members of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa adopted at its 42nd Ordinary Session held from 15 - 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa, Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki, comes to an end on 05 November 2011;

Decides to reappoint Commissioner **Dupe Atoki** as Chairperson and to appoint Commissioner **Med Kaggwa** as member of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa for a period of two years, effective 05 November 2011;

Further reappoints the following Experts as Members for the same period:

- Mr Jean-Baptiste Niyizurugero Vice Chairperson
- Mrs. Hannah Forster Member
- Mr Malick Sow Member

Done In Banjul, The Gambia On 05 November 2011