## ACHPR/Res.323 (LVII) 2015: RESOLUTION ON THE RENEWAL OF THE MANDATE OF THE WORKING GROUP ON INDIGENOUS POPULATIONS/COMMUNITIES IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Commission) meeting at its 57<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held from 4<sup>th</sup> to 18<sup>th</sup> November 2015, in Banjul, The Gambia;

**Considering** its mandate to promote human and peoples' rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

**Recalling** that the African Commission established a Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities (the Working Group) composed of ten members, amongst them, three Members of the African Commission;

**Further recalling** its Resolution ACHPR/Res.65 (XXXIV) 03 on the Report of the African Commission's Working Group adopted at its 34<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 6 to 20 November 2003;

**Recalling** Resolutions ACHPR/Res.123 (XXXXII) of 2007; ACHPR/Res.155 (XLV1) of 2009; ACHPR/Res.204 (L) of 2011; and ACHPR/Res.249 of 2013 all renewing the mandate of the Working Group for consecutive two years;

**Bearing in mind** ACHPR/Res.237 of 2013 appointing two new expert members for the Working Group;

**Noting** with appreciation the work undertaken by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Soyata Maiga during the past two years in the discharge of its mandate;

**Noting** further that the term of the Chairperson and members of the Working Group has come to an end;

**Recognizing further** the importance of the work of the Working Group in the promotion and protection of the rights of indigenous populations/communities in Africa and the necessity to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

## Decides to:

- ix. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Soyata Maiga as Chairperson of the Working Group;
- x. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor as a member of the Working Group;

xi. Appoint Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou as a member of the Working Group;

xii. Maintain the membership of the following experts:

- Mr. Mohammed Khattali
- Ms. Marianne Jensen
- Dr. Melakou Tegegn
- Dr. Naomi Kipuri
- Dr. Albert Barume
- Ms Lesle Jansen
- Ms Hawe Bouba

The mandate of the Working Group is 2 years and shall take effect on 18 November 2015.

Adopted on 17 November 2015 at the 57<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, held from 4 to 18 November 2015 in Banjul, The Gambia