ACHPR/Res. 387(LXI) 2017: Resolution on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 61st Ordinary Session held from 01 to 15 November 2017, in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Considering the recognition by African States of the absolute and irrevocable nature of the prohibition of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment under Article 5 of the African Charter;

Recalling its Resolution on Guidelines and Measures for the Prohibition and Prevention of Torture, Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment in Africa (the Robben Island Guidelines) adopted during its 32nd Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 17 to 23 October 2002;

Further recalling the establishment of the Robben Island Guidelines Follow-Up Committee in 2004 with the mandate to give effect to the promotion of Article 5 of the Charter;

Further recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res158 (XLVI) 09 that changed the name of the Robben Island Follow-up Committee to the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa (CPTA);

Bearing in mind Resolution ACHPR/Res.120 (XXXXII)07 and **Resolution ACHPR/Res.254 (LIV) 2013** on the Appointment of the Chairperson and Members of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa adopted during the 42nd Ordinary Session and the 54th Ordinary Session;

Considering Resolution ACHPR/Res.192 (L) 2011, adopted during the 50th Ordinary Session of the Commission held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24 to 05 November 2011, renewing the mandate of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa under the leadership of the Chairperson of the Committee, Commissioner Lawrence Murugu Mute, since his appointment on 05 November 2013;

Considering the need to allow the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa to continue carrying out its mandate and address urgent issues falling within its mandate:

Decides to:

- i. **Appoint Commissioner Hatem Essaiem** as Chairperson of the Committee for a period of two years;
- ii. Renew for the same period the mandate of Commissioner Lawrence Murugu Mute, Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor and Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso as members of the Committee;
- iii. **Appoint Commissioner Maria Teresa Manuela** as a member of the Committee for the same period;
- iv. **Maintain** for the same period, the membership of the following experts:
 - Mr Jean-Baptiste Niyizurugero Vice Chairperson;
 - Ms Hannah Forster Member; and
 - Mr Malick Sow Member.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 15 November 2017