ACHPR/Res. 426 (LXV) 2019: Resolution on the Appointment of Expert Members to the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 65. Ordinary Session held from 21 October to 10 November 2019, in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Considering the absolute and non-derogable nature of the prohibition of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading punishment and treatment under Article 5 of the African Charter;

Recalling its Resolution on Guidelines and Measures for the Prohibition and Prevention of Torture, Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment in Africa (the Robben Island Guidelines) adopted during its 32nd Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 17 to 23 October 2002;

Further recalling the establishment of the Follow-up Committee on the Robben Island Guidelines in 2004 to promote implementation of the Robben Island Guidelines;

Further recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res158 (XLVI) 09 that changed the name of the Follow-up Committee on the Robben Island Guidelines to the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa (the Committee);

Bearing in mind Resolution ACHPR/Res.120 (XXXXII) 07, Resolution ACHPR/Res.192 (L) 2011, Resolution ACHPR/Res.254 (LIV) 2013, Resolution ACHPR/Res.322(LVII) 2015, and Resolution ACHPR/Res.387(LXI) 2017 renewing the mandate of the Committee; **Further noting** that the mandate of Members of the Committee is coming to an end;

Bearing in mind Resolution ACHPR/Res... (LV)2019 on the Renewal of the ACHPR's Special Mechanisms' Mandates, adopted at the present Session, renewing their mandates for a six (6) months' period, with effect from 10 November 2019;

Noting that in view of the need to reconstitute the Committee's membership, a call for applications of Expert Members for the Committee was announced and selections were made from the applications received;

Appreciating the work done by the outgoing Expert Members of the Committee during their terms;

The Commission decides to appoint the following Expert Members for a period of two (2) years:

Mr Jean-Baptiste Niyizurugero;

- Ms Onyema Afulukwe;
- Ms Sana Bousbih; and
- Mr Serges Frederic Mboumegne Dzesseu.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 10 November 2019