

Economic Community of West African States, African Regional Bodies

Regulation C/REG.24/12/07 Relating to the Establishment of a Specialised Unit in the ECOWAS Commission for the Creation of the Regional Agency for Access to Energy Services

Legislation as at 15 December 2007

FRBR URI: /akn/aa-ecowas/act/reg/2007/12-24/eng@2007-12-15

There may have been updates since this file was created.

PDF created on 23 August 2023 at 13:48.

Check for updates



About this collection

The legislation in this collection has been reproduced as it was originally printed in the Government Gazette, with improved formatting and with minor typographical errors corrected. All amendments have been applied directly to the text and annotated. A scan of the original gazette of each piece of legislation (including amendments) is available for reference.

This is a free download from the Laws. Africa Legislation Commons, a collection of African legislation that is digitised by Laws. Africa and made available for free.

www.laws.africa info@laws.africa

There is no copyright on the legislative content of this document.

This PDF copy is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License (CC BY 4.0). Share widely and freely.

Regulation C/REG.24/12/07 Relating to the Establishment of a Specialised Unit in the ECOWAS Commission for the Creation of the Regional Agency for Access to Energy Services Contents

| Article 1 | 1 | 2 |
|-----------|---|---|
| Article 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Article 3 | 3 | 2 |
| Article 4 | 4 | 2 |
| Article ! | 5 | 2 |
| Article 6 | 6 | 2 |

Economic Community of West African States

Regulation C/REG.24/12/07 Relating to the Establishment of a Specialised Unit in the ECOWAS Commission for the Creation of the Regional Agency for Access to Energy Services

Published in official journal 52 on 1 January 2008

Commenced in full

[This is the version of this document as it was at 15 December 2007 to 31 December 2007.]

The Council of Ministers,

MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its composition and its functions;

MINDFUL of Article 19 (c) of the said Treaty of ECOWAS which provides for the convening of meetings of sectoral Ministers for the consideration of sectoral issues that contribute to the achievement of the objectives of the Community;

MINDFUL of Article 28 of the Treaty of ECOWAS relating to the promotion, cooperation, integration and development of the energy projects and sectors of the Member States of the Community;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.3/5/82 relating to the ECOWAS Energy Policy;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.5/12/99 relating to the development of the West African Power Pool (WAPP);

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.2/12/03 relating to the European Initiative on Energy for Poverty Eradication and Sustainable Development, revising the Regional PRSP to ensure that energy programmes are included in programmes eligible under the EDF, and the review of National PRSP Programmes to ensure that the energy aspect is incorporated into priority programmes eligible under the European Development Fund (EDF);

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.3/12/03 relating to the Regional Rural Electrification Programme;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.24/01/06 relating to the ECOWAS/UEMOA Regional Policy on Access to Energy Services for Populations in Rural and Peri-urban Areas for Poverty Reduction and the achievement of the MDGs in Member States;

AWARE of the challenges member States face in securing the well-being of their peoples and achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) by 2015, especially halving poverty and increasing access to basic social services;

CONSIDERING the need to respond to the objectives of the NEPAD Action Plan, to which the Investment Programme of the Regional Policy on Access to Energy Services aims to contribute;

AWARE of the mandate given to the ECOWAS Commission by Decision A/DEC.24/01/06 to undertake preparatory activities for the implementation of the Regional Action Plan, as per the Regional Implementation Strategy, both defined in the Regional Policy on Access to Energy Services;

AWARE of the fact that the Implementation Strategy relies in particular on the idea of the creation of a Regional Agency for Access to Energy Services (RAAES);

CONSIDERING the RAAES study carried out by the ECOWAS Commission with the financial support of the Partnership Dialogue Facility (European Commission) and the UNDP, which on completion, recommended the establishment in the long run, of a Regional Agency for Access to Energy Services (RAAES);

ON THE RECOMMENDATION OF the 8th Eighth Meeting of ECOWAS Ministers of Energy held in Lomé, the Togolese Republic on 16 November 2007;

ENACTS

Article 1

A Specialised Unit is hereby set up in the ECOWAS Commission for the creation of a Regional Agency for Access to Energy Services (RAAES), in accordance with the implementation strategy of the Regional Plan of Action.

Article 2

This Specialised Unit shall work towards meeting the necessary conditions defined in the roadmap for the effective establishment of the Agency, in particular by deepening collaboration with Member States, National and Regional stakeholders and development partners, along the four lines of the Regional Plan of Action.

Article 3

The ECOWAS Commission shall strengthen the technical partnership with UNDP, by relocating the technical experts on the programme to the Specialised Unit.

Article 4

The ECOWAS Commission shall mobilise the necessary funds for the establishment of the RAAES from development partners and regional financial institutions.

Article 5

The ECOWAS Commission shall develop an institutional capacity building programme for the implementation of the White Paper in order to support the Agency set-up process.

Article 6

This Regulation shall be published by the ECOWAS Commission in the Official Journal of the Community within thirty (30) days of the date of its singing by the Chairperson of the Council of Ministers. It shall also be published by each Member State in its Official *Gazette* within the same time frame.

Done in Ouagadougou, this 15th day of December 2007.

H. E. Mrs. Minata Samaté Cessouma

Chairperson, for Council