

Economic Community of West African States, African Regional Bodies

Regulation C/REG.5/06/07 Granting a Compensatory Allowance to Three (3) Commissioners not Provided with Free Accommodation

Legislation as at 5 June 2007

FRBR URI: /akn/aa-ecowas/act/reg/2007/6-5/eng@2007-06-05

There may have been updates since this file was created.

PDF created on 23 August 2023 at 14:39.

Check for updates



About this collection

The legislation in this collection has been reproduced as it was originally printed in the Government Gazette, with improved formatting and with minor typographical errors corrected. All amendments have been applied directly to the text and annotated. A scan of the original gazette of each piece of legislation (including amendments) is available for reference.

This is a free download from the Laws. Africa Legislation Commons, a collection of African legislation that is digitised by Laws. Africa and made available for free.

www.laws.africa info@laws.africa

There is no copyright on the legislative content of this document.

This PDF copy is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License (CC BY 4.0). Share widely and freely.

Regulation C/REG.5/06/07 Granting a Compensatory Allowance to Three (3) Commissioners not Provided with Free Accommodation Contents

Article 1	1
Paragraph 1	1
Paragraph 2	1
Article 2	1

Economic Community of West African States

Regulation C/REG.5/06/07 Granting a Compensatory Allowance to Three (3) Commissioners not Provided with Free Accommodation

Published in official journal 51 on 1 June 2007

Commenced in full

[This is the version of this document at 5 June 2007.]

The Council of Ministers,

MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the ECOWAS Treaty, as amended, establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its composition and functions;

MINDFUL of the directive contained in the Final Communique issued at the Twenty-eighth Session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government that the ECOWAS Executive Secretariat should be transformed to adapt it to the international environment and to render it more effective in the discharge of its regional integration mission;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.16/01/06 transforming the Executive Secretariat into a Commission;

MINDFUL of Council's responsibility with regard to the functioning and development of the Community Institutions, as provided in the ECOWAS Treaty;

CONSIDERING that Statutory Appointees are entitled to free furnished accommodation under Article 28 of the Staff Regulations of the Community Institutions;

CONSIDERING that three (3) Commissioners have not been provided with free accommodation by the Government of the State hosting the Headquarters of the ECOWAS Commission;

CONSIDERING the need for the Community to avoid incurring high costs as a result of a prolonged accommodation of the Commissioners at the hotels and to put an immediate end to the uncomfortable conditions under which the concerned Commissioners and their families are living;

CONSIDERING that, if the three (3) Commissioners concerned are not granted free, furnished accommodation, the Community is expected to provide a compensatory rent allowance to each of them to cover their rents, furniture, equipment and electricity and communication expenses;

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the first meeting of the Administration and Finance Committee, held in Abuja from 21 to 25 May 2007;

ENACTS

Article 1

- 1. A compensatory rent allowance in the amount of two hundred and one thousand and eighteen Units of Account (UA 201 018) is hereby granted to three (3) Commissioners not granted free accommodation.
- 2. The allowance referred to in paragraph 1 of this article shall be used for paying two (2) year's rent, and for the acquisition of their furniture and equipment as well as their electricity and communication expenses.

Article 2

This Regulation shall be published in the Official Journal of the Community by the ECOWAS Commission within thirty (30) days of its signature by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers.

It shall also be published within the same time frame in the National *Gazette* of each Member State.

Done at Ouagadougou, this 5th day of June, 2007

Hon. Youssouf Ouedraogo

Chairman, for the Council.